John Lloyd Cruz, LJ Reyes, Brillante Mendoza, ‘Heneral Luna’ win big in Gawad Urian

  • John Lloyd Cruz and LJ Reyes win the top awards in the 2016 Gawad Urian
  • John Lloyd won Best Actor for his role in ‘Honor Thy Father’, LJ for her performance in ‘Anino sa Likod ng Buwan’
  • Brillante Mendoza’s ‘Taklub’ starring Superstar Nora Aunor wins Best Picture

John Lloyd Cruz and LJ Reyes were named as the top winners of the annual Gawad Urian awards for 2016 during the awarding ceremony held on Wednesday evening, June 22, at the Kia Theater in Cubao, Quezon City.

Both winning the prestigious award for the first time, John Lloyd bagged the Best Actor trophy for his performance in Erik Matti’s “Honor Thy Father”. LJ, on the other hand, won the Best Actress category for Jun Lana’s “Anino sa Likod ng Buwan”.

GMA News Online said in its story that John Lloyd overtook strong nominees such as John Arcilla (Heneral Luna), Ricky Davao (Dayang Asu), Sid Lucero (Apocalypse Child) and Jericho Rosales (Walang Forever), among others.

John Lloyd said in his acceptance speech: “I came here tonight as an actor that can honor and celebrate my pure love for cinema.”

Meanwhile, LJ beat Superstar Nora Aunor who was nominated for the film Taklub. Other powerhouse actresses she also defeated were Alessandra de Rossi (Bambanti), Ces Quesada (Imbisibol), Jennylyn Mercado (Walang Forever) and Mercedes Cabral (Da Dog Show).

 “Gusto ko pong magpasalamat sa lahat ng naniwala sa ‘kin. Sa lahat ng mahal ang sining, para po sa inyo ‘tong lahat,” the actress said in her acceptance speech.

[I would like to thank all of you who believed in me. To all who loves our craft, this is for you.]

Bernardo Bernardo (Imbisibol) and Ana Abad Santos (Apocalypse Child) won the Best Supporting Actor and Actress awards, respectively.

Brillante Mendoza’s “Taklub”, which tells the story of Supertyphoon Yolanda’s devastation of Tacloban City, bagged the Best Picture award.

The ceremony’s big winner, InterAksyon said in its story, is the biopic “Heneral Luna” that stars John Arcilla as the title role. The film won Best Director, Best Editing, Best Cinematography and Best Sound.