New DOH, DOT, DTI chiefs named

  • Three new members of incoming president Rodrigo Duterte’s Cabinet were named
  • The next Health, Tourism, and Trade and Industry secretaries were announced
  • Incoming deputy spokesman Ernie Abella made the announcement

The names of the new Health, Tourism, and Trade and Industry secretaries were finally announced.

In an article written by Trisha Macas of GMA News, it was disclosed that the camp of incoming president Rodrigo Duterte has disclosed on the evening of Monday, June 13, the three new members of the president-elect’s Cabinet; who were appointed to lead three remaining government agencies without secretaries.

Incoming deputy spokesman Ernie Abella stated that Duterte has picked Paulyn Jean Rosell-Ubial as Department of Health (DOH) secretary, Wanda Corazon Teo as Department of Tourism (DOT) secretary and Ramon Lopez as Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) chief.

The new DOH secretary Ubial is currently the assistant secretary of the health department for the Office of Health Regulations.

The new DOT secretary Teo is the owner of Mt. Apo Travel and Tours. Teo, sister of journalist Ramon Tulfo, is also the president of the National Association & Independent Travel Agencies Phil. Inc., which claims to be the “biggest tourism organization in the country.”

The new DTI chief Lopez, on the other hand, is with the RFM Corporation as vice president and executive assistant to President and Chief Executive Officer is Jose Ma. Concepcion III; as well as concurrent head of the Corporate Planning. RFM Corp. Lopez is also the executive director of Go Negosyo.

Abella noted that the recent picks have completed Duterte’s roster of Cabinet secretaries.

Meanwhile, Duterte’s executive assistant, Christopher “Bong” Go, said that the current post of Commission on High Education (CHED) Chairperson Patricia Licuanan will be retained. Go explained that Licuanan will still have the position at CHED since it is a fixed term.