List of Binibining Pilipinas 2017 Official Candidates released; Miss PH-Earth 2012 Stephany Stefanowitz gets disqualified

Quezon City, Philippines – Binibining Pilipinas 2017 official candidates were selected from a pool of 96 aspirants. Trimmed down to 55 after initial selection, the ladies were further cut to the Final 40 after a round of interviews. The event is set to be held at the Smart Araneta Coliseum on April 29.

Among the girls who missed the cut were Miss World Philippines runner-up Zara Saldua, the first openly-Moslem candidate who refused to wear the one-piece swimsuit and appeared with a sarong and Miss Philippines-Earth 2012 Stephany Stefanowitz, who later on won runner-up in the international pageant.

While there is no rule regarding local titleholders crossing to Binibining Pilipinas, Stefanowitz was disqualified due to her age. She is going to be 28 in October. Local rules state that girls should  be 18-26; however, Stefanowitz applied in the hopes of having the rules changed as Miss Universe Organization extends the age limit to 28.

As announced by the BPCI on their official Facebook page, the following are the girls who will compete in an all-new format for this year’s competition.

  1. Ana Patricia Asturias
  2. Leitz Camyll M. Ang
  3. Jessica M. Ramirez
  4. Dane Felisse R. Marasigan
  5. Mae Lanie Chan
  6. Arienne Louise Braga Calingo
  7. Maria Gail Devora Tobes
  8. Gabriela Patricia M. Ortega
  9. Katarina Sonja A. Rodriguez
  10. Joselle S. Mariano
  11. Kristi Rose D. Cequeña
  12. Rachel Peters
  13. Maria Camille P. Manalo
  14. Jennyline Carla F. Malpaya
  15. Vanessa N. Saliba
  16. Juliana M. Kapeundl
  17. Ma. Bejieleen T. Nama
  18. Thoreen D. Halvosen
  19. Sarah Jireh C. Asido
  20. Arah A. Salientes
  21. Beatrice O. Valente
  22. Mae Liezel J. Ramos
  23. Larah Grace Lacap
  24. Clarice Marion E. Villareal
  25. Chanel Olive V. Thomas
  26. Nelda C. Ibe
  27. Christagale Borja
  28. Ruffa Nava
  29. Angelique Celine L. De Leon
  30. Jamaica Elysse D. Ambal
  31. Karla May R. Manongsong
  32. Dindi Joy Pajares
  33. Kimberly L. Pajares
  34. Maria Angelica A. De Leon
  35. Sirene Sutton
  36. Charmaine F. Elima
  37. Jehza Mae Huelar
  38. Elizabeth Durado Clenci
  39. Kristel N. Guelos
  40. Sammie Anne L. Legaspi

Among the list are Binibining Pilipinas repeaters Jennyline Malpaya, Charmaine Elima, Dindi Pajares, Mae Liezel Ramos, Angelique Celine de Leon, Elizabeth Clenci and last year’s runner-up, Jehza Huelar. Christopher de Leon and Sandy Andolong’s daughter Maria Angelica De Leon is also taking her second try in this year’s pageant.

Some of the girls who made it were crossovers from Miss World Philippines, namely, Arienne Calingo, Rachel Peters, Ruffa Nava and Nelda Ibe. Larah Grace Lacap won Mutya ng Pilipinas title while Chanel Olive Thomas finished as a runner-up in Miss Philippines-Earth.

Fresh faces from the modeling world, Sirene Sutton, Fil-Spanish Gabriela Ortega and Asia’s Next Top Model finalist Katarina Rodriguez also made it to this year’s official candidates.

According to insiders, from the roster of 40 girls, 20 will be selected to compete in Swimsuit competition. Top 11 will be selected to compete in Evening Gown. From this 11, the four runner-ups will be announced. The Top 7 will endure an interview round, five girls will be crowned as Binibining Pilipinas United Continents, Binibining Pilipinas Globe, Binibining Pilipinas Intercontinental, Binibining Pilipinas Grand International and Binibining Pilipinas Supranational.

The final two will square on an all-important final interview round to determine who will succeed Maxine Medina and Kylie Verzosa as Miss Universe-Philippines and Binibining Pilipinas International.


Source :

Rappler, GMA, ABS-CBN