By the numbers: Find out which CA member voted for (or against) Gina Lopez’s confirmation

  • Names of CA members who voted for or against Lopez’s confirmation out
  • 8 members (all senators) voted in favor of her confirmation
  • 16 members (4 senators, 12 representatives) voted to reject her appointment

MANILA, Philippines – An infographic shared by ABS-CBN shows the numbers and names of the members of the Commission on Appointments (CA) who voted for or against erstwhile environment secretary Gina Lopez’s confirmation.

Eight voted in favor of Lopez’s appointment, with all of them coming from the Senate. They were: Senators Bam Aquino, Franklin Drilon, JV Ejercito, Loren Legarda, Manny Pacquiao, Francis Pangilinan, Ralph Recto and Vicente Sotto.

Meanwhile, 16 voted against her appointment. Of that number, four came from the Senate: Senators Alan Peter Cayetano, Gringo Honasan, Juan Miguel Zubiri and Panfilo Lacson.

The 12 solons from the House of Representatives who are part of the CA all voted against her. They were: Reps. Rodolfo Albano III, Joel Mayo Almario, Julieta Cortuna, Antonio Floirendo, Wes Gatchalian, Roy Loyola, Sandy Ocampo, Benhur Salimbangon, Josephine Ramirez Sato, Abraham Bambol Tolentino Jerry P. Treñas and Ronaldo Zamora.

It was earlier reported that at least 13 members of the 24-member CA had voted to reject her appointment.

With the rejection, Lopez became the second Cabinet official of the Duterte administration to be snubbed the CA. The first was former foreign affairs secretary Perfecto Yasay Jr. over conflicts in his citizenship and use of a foreign passport.

Lopez had stirred the ire of the mining industry over her closure of several mines and cancellation of mining contracts, with lobbyists accusing her of violating due process — a charge which the noted eco-crusader had denied.

With the rejection, Lopez cannot be re-appointed by the president to the same post again.